italco's Place

Government information blog with an Anti-Corruption agenda.

  • View all my Pages

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

  • My Posts

  • Ed’s Stuff

The Independence Caucus Approach!!

Posted by italco on February 25, 2010

I was invited to participate in the selection process of 3 Conservative Candidates looking to derail Senator Bob Bennett in the Republican Senate Primary. My participation will also include a vote in determining who will be the Candidate that the Caucus will endorse in this Senate race.  http://icaucus.ning.com/

I have been invited to ask any question I choose with no limit in the number of question I can ask. Rather than abuse this privilege, I elected to ask 4 questions that are important to me. I hope they are important to you as well. I asked the following four questions to each of Candidate’s; Mike Lee, Cherilyn Eagar, and Tim Bridgewater.

“Many feel there is a need for ethics reform in congress. We feel owning stock in corporations you govern, to be a conflict of interest. Ethics committee members in the House and Senate do not have to answer to the general public and only answer to their specific constituents. With this in mind, do you agree there a need for “ethics reform” if so, are you willing to champion that cause in Washington?

What is your stand on Term Limits in congress?

How will you approach the corruption issues in congress? (gifts in kind, stock ownership, lobbying,etc…)

What is your plan to bridge the divide between liberal democrats and conservative republicans?”

I will post their responses here as they answer…this should be interesting.

“Beat The Drum”

Received replies:

Tim Bridgewater

From Tim:

Term Limits: I have committed to support term limits legislation every year for the six-year term if elected. I believe three terms for the Senate and six terms for the House is the right number to ensure a regular turnover of representatives. I am not optimistic that I will win a majority of support among the permanent political class, but if elected you will see a bill proposed every year to that end.

Corruption in Congress: Transparency and disclosure must be strengthened. All existing ownership of stock, real estate or other assets must be disclosed and then placed in a blind trust. Anyone who votes on issues which impact those holdings must publicly disclose before the vote any holding and a conflict of interest. It is better to abstain from votes where there is a conflict of interest and I will do so. No gifts in kind should be received outside of those allowed under the current campaign finance laws, all of which must be disclosed and reported quarterly in campaigns. People do contribute their time and/or materials in helping my Senate campaign and I am grateful for their support. Every three months those contributions are reported publicly by my campaign.

Bridge the divide: The country needs sound principles to guide us. We are all Americans and in order to get the country on sound footing, we will need to work together. The out of control spending is a major hurdle to our country’s ability to compete and succeed and I believe that many Democrats will join with me in the 2010 class in reducing the debt and returning control of the country to the states in order to reduce spending. It is a imperative that we take action quickly on reforming entitlements and balancing the budget for future generations.”

Cherilyn Eagar

Question – “Many feel there is a need for ethics reform in congress. We feel owning stock in corporations you govern, to be a conflict of interest. Ethics committee members in the House and Senate do not have to answer to the general public and only answer to their specific constituents. With this in mind, do you agree there a need for “ethics reform” if so, are you willing to champion that cause in Washington?

Cherilyn’s Answer –
Ethics reform in the US House and Senate is absolutely necessary; however, not in the form of the unconstitutional Ethics Reform Initiative petitions now circulating in Utah. We can start reforming Congress by stopping unconstitutional and inappropriate earmarks and the horse trading of votes. The 2nd and 3rd Icaucus videos make this corruption very clear. I own annuities and mutual funds, but I do not have any governing ownership of any corporation outside of the company my husband and I own. That company provides Internet marketing for the real estate field. That is the source of our income. I have no conflicts of interest with any company I own outside of the U.S. or with any client directly paying me a salary or income. My vote cannot be bought, sold, traded or gambled away in a senatorial back room deal

Question: “What is your stand on Term Limits in congress?”
 

 

Answer: I do not support a term limit amendment or amending the Constitution. No one who understands the original intent of the Founders would support the amendments that are being used as clever sound bites in this race. We would do better to eliminate the power of the incumbent party, as promoted by the Icaucus videos.

I support restoring the Constitution and repealing several amendments that have removed the accountability of the Senator to the state. Term limits would be my last resort because they would not solve the problem about which we are concerned, and they would make that problem worse: The Incumbent Party which sends 90% of them back election cycle after election cycle is a “follow the money” problem, not a term limit problem.

In addition, the unconstitutional 4th branch of government would gain more control than it already has. The agency wheels already keep on turning administration after administration and this would increase and we would be controlled even more by bureaucrats.

The states that have term limits have given us some history now which shows what an ineffective solution this would be: The elected officials play musical chairs from one house to the other.

The other problem, seniority, is more easily solved by simply requiring a rule that the committee chair position be rotated each session.

We need to rip out the roots and stop merging business with government, follow the money and audit the Federal Reserve. The best term limit is at the ballot box.

I do not foresee my serving more than two terms. If I can’t get my goals accomplished in that time, I need to pass it on to someone else.

Question: How will you approach the corruption issues in congress? (gifts in kind, stock ownership, lobbying,etc…)

 

Cherilyn’s Answer:
First, I will not take corporate contributions. I am funding this campaign primarily with grassroots funding. In the Fourth Quarter, we raised more grassroots funding that each of the reporting candidates combined. We need an earmark moratorium and transparency, bills our incumbent opposed. Transparency is better than limiting donations.

McCain-Feingold caused a different problem: favoring incumbents and the wealthy.

A Senator that discloses a conflict of interest should not be allowed to sponsor or vote on that bill. If the federal government would stop meddling in the private sector and stop merging business with government, there would be fewer lobbyists.

If you follow the money, you will follow the corruption. Corporations fund both sides of the aisle, hedging their bets. Earmarks are payback for campaign contributions. For example, EnergySolutions funded our incumbent Senator about $50,000, then it turned around and funded Sen. Harry Reid. Then Senator Bennett championed ES’ bill to bring foreign nuclear waste to Utah while Cong. Chaffetz opposed it. The only candidate in this Senate race that supports that legislation is the candidate that receives income directly from that corporation.

Mike Lee

 “Reply by Dan Hauser 4 hours ago

Edward, I apologize for having to answer in pieces to your questions. Since Mike has been doing events across the state, we have been answering as fast as possible. This is the first of his answers to your questions:

in regards to term limits (per Mike): I support term limits

As to your other questions, I will have the answers as quick as I can”

It is now 11:30 pm and I have posted the responses to my 4 questions to all 3 Candidates. I have to go cast my vote now. I am not certain I will announce who I voted for because I still need to see what other races and Candidates are doing. In this particular cacus, I was impressed with the respect I was shown and to find out the things I have in common with the Conservative thinkers in our State.

One Response to “The Independence Caucus Approach!!”

  1. Republicans want want failure, they want things like the insurance companies to continue to rake in billions and to keep the unwealthy at a disadvantage. The infrastructures portion was what we needed to get us going in advancing our country to come into the present but the old conservatives who want to go back to the “simpler times” (ie. slavery, and racial discrimination via lower education). Our country and everyday people need help due to bad financial policy and they are just not getting it. Who is getting it? Big business. God bless America.

Leave a Reply

 
