italco's Place

Government information blog with an Anti-Corruption agenda.

  • Country First

    • While we don't fault all his positions, but we do reject his positions on the Federal Land Initiatives,... fb.me/1eaDt0rB4Demand Ethics and Accountability 1 year ago
    • Great example of unity...walk into enemy territory and find common ground. Well done Madam President! fb.me/4Y1pMUj9dDemand Ethics and Accountability 1 year ago
    • This is ridiculous for our political leaders to be so heavily involved in this issue. Having Militia groups... fb.me/2AcjoDMPfDemand Ethics and Accountability 1 year ago
    • Trump has lost control of the hatred he inspires and the Republicans have lost control of the Candidate they... fb.me/5d01fuWnqDemand Ethics and Accountability 1 year ago

“The American Clean Energy and Security Act”

Posted by italco on May 15, 2009

 

Environment

Chairman Henry A. Waxman and Subcommittee Chairman Edward J. Markey introduced “H.R. 2454, The American Clean Energy and Security Act.”  The Energy and Commerce Committee will begin markup of the bill on Monday, May 18, 2009, at 1:00 p.m., and will complete consideration before the Memorial Day recess.

“The legislation will create millions of new clean energy jobs, save consumers hundreds of billions of dollars in energy costs, promote America’s energy independence and security, and cut global warming pollution,” said Chairman Waxman.  “In support of these goals, this legislation ensures that consumers and industries in all regions of the country are protected.  I look forward to working with all members of the Committee to approve this legislation to make America the world leader in new clean energy and energy efficiency technologies.” http://energycommerce.house.gov/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=1622:chairmen-waxman-and-markey-introduce-the-american-clean-energy-and-security-act&catid=155:statements&Itemid=81

The latest version of the House Democratic leadership’s climate bill would give away for free up to 85% of the pollution permits created to launch a proposed system to cap greenhouse-gas emissions, according to details of the proposal released.

The free pollution permits and other compromises are part of the multibillion dollar price that House Energy and Commerce Chairman Henry A. Waxman (D., Calif.) paid to win support from moderate House Democrats to clear the way for a committee vote on his sweeping climate and energy bill by Memorial Day. The measure still faces an uncertain future in the Senate. Mr. Waxman and moderate Democrats outlined their deal earlier this week. Those permits could be sold, and would have value because the overall quantity of allowed industrial greenhouse gas emissions would be capped under the law.

The article goes on by breaking down the percentage of gases permitted based on industry and explains how both sides of the issue will have to find compromise to make this work.

The president and Mr. Waxman originally had pushed for utilities to produce up to 25% of their power from renewable sources, with a certain percentage offset by energy efficiency gains. Utilities were to attain that goal by 2025. But now, as part of his compromise, Mr. Waxman cut the requirement to 20% by 2020, with governors able to reduce the renewable portion if they increase energy efficiency.

States will initially receive 10% of the greenhouse-gas allowances for free, and could use their value to finance investments in renewable energy and energy efficiency. http://online.wsj.com/article/SB124240088772024143.html?mod=googlenews_wsj

15 Responses to ““The American Clean Energy and Security Act””

  1. nevenera said

    Hello Italico, I love the look of your blog 🙂

    Thanks for the great info. I will take my time and go through the rest of your blog. Glad you found your way to the ireport netherworld ;P

    Will check in as I have time, am swamped these days 😦

    • italco said

      I will have to admit that once you figure out your way around here you certainly have a lot more freedom out here. I enjoyed my time on ireports and feel we did a good service to our country combating the McCain bloggers and helping President Obama get elected.

      Once the dust settled and the elections were over, there was just too much un-sportsman like conduct on the part of those who lost. I still read posts from the friends I made over there but have adapted just fine on my own. I am glad you came by and posted. I hope you become a regular. I regularly visit your blog and will start leaving comments from time to time. Good luck and remember to find time for you.

  2. jruthkelly said

    as an aside here italco…you need to make it so that people can click to your blog when you leave comments! that way they’ll find your wealth here faster. do it. (i forget how…sorry!)

    • italco said

      Got it…not sure how I did it either…I played with a bunch of stuff. It may be the wordpress did it when I sent them an not asking how to do it…it might be something you do upon sign-up. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

  3. jruthkelly said

    I’m wondering if there’s an article out there (probably is!) about how each household contributes to greenhouse gas emissions and how those same households are tied into the bigger industrial picture. I just haven’t seen one lately that really grabs me. I think if we can see it more as a trail from where we reside on a daily basis to the grand beyond, in language that is clear, we’ll be more engaged and aware. For instance, how many weedeaters and leafblowers out there x(times) how many millions of times of usage = _____ likely effect on environment etc. and how that compares to the big trucks coming to pick up our recycleables. I love the phrase “non-point source pollution” but no one really knows what it means. It’s powerful. Your car drips oil, where does the oil go? Your leafblower emits exhaust… I learned that catchy confusing phrase from Clean Ocean Action when I worked for the American Littoral Society (in NJ) AGES ago. Check them out: http://www.cleanoceanaction.org/ and http://www.littoralsociety.org/ They’re a real solid tribe. Thanks for sharing this. I love your site. More more!

    • Geonite said

      You can measure your carbon footprint. There are a lot of them out there just google carbon footprint. EPA has one too.

    • italco said

      Ruth – Geo is a very dear friend and an environmental scientist. One of the most intelligent ladies I know. Sounds like she answered your question. I am just a man who enjoys nature and wants to help preserve it. I have no scientific knowledge, technical question I have to research like everyone else…lol.

      Thanks Geonite, I will look it up and post a link here. Would you be interested in posting any info on my blog?…I could add you as a contributor or an Author. Your expertise would be beneficial to all.

  4. oh my…it’s the weekend and my attention span is at its minimum. Will have to come back to this post next week! 😉

    • italco said

      lol…I don’t see getting banned or anything here so come back at your leisure. I always enjoy it when you visit…makes me smile.

  5. Geonite said

    It’s about time we had a President who tackled greenhouse gas emissions responsibly. I just hope this isn’t too late.

    • italco said

      Hi there Geo, my good friend. I am so glad you finally made it to my place. I couldn’t agree more on this article. The first step is always the most difficult. Negotiating a deal so it is win win for everyone, now we need to get it past the House and Senate…which looks like will happen.

    • Geonite said

      Glad I made it too. This is a good post. I’m usually too exhausted after work and WorldPress is blocked at my workplace.

    • italco said

      Thanks for coming here. I am concerned about the health care reform issues now that the insurance companies are mounting their TV campaign arrack against it. If we are giving away all these permits, where is the money for the healthcare reform package going to come from…this might be ammo for the Ins. Co.’s

  6. Glad to find your site. I like the way you are saying things… and what you are saying. Just read through your most recent few posts, and would like more folks to have the chance to read and open up their minds. Some things I just don’t understand, and unlike you who seem to be trying, I suppose on politics and awareness, I’ve given up…

    • italco said

      Thank you for coming to my site and leaving your comment. When I was visiting your blog (which I enjoyed very much) I was impressed with the knowledge and advice you give to your friends. That is the purpose of reaching others who share common interest, but who bring additional information to the table. When I visit a blog like your that I find interesting, I will go back several times and take in what I miss the first few times. I am happy to help you or anyone else understand politics or anything else I have basic knowledge in. Your comments have inspired me to add another page explaining the basics of politics that might inspire others to be involved. Please visit often, I will try to keep it interesting…lol…ok as interesting as environmental issues, politics, and football can be to a lady anyway…lol. You are welcome to shoot me private e-mails as well.

Leave a Reply

 
